Be Kind To Yourself

by Evan Lea, Co-Founder of 44Life

Be kind to yourself.

Many times, I expect too much out of myself. My goals aren’t realistic and whenever results don’t match expectations, I get frustrated, discouraged, and restless. I want to force things. I feel a visceral impatience bubble up inside me. I can’t stand it. I want to be at the finish line.

Upon digesting and analyzing my feelings, it feels like fear. I’m scared I’m not moving fast enough. I’m fearful I’m not far enough along the path. I’m afraid that I’ll never get to where I see myself going.

It takes someone else’s encouraging words, a good night’s sleep, or some other disruptive force to knock me from my torrid trance. Progress takes time. Realizing that life is not a race helps. Keeping up with the Joneses has never had a positive connotation and for good reason. Stop making assumptions. Try to understand that not everyone judges us, abuses us, victimizes us, and blames us the same way we do to ourselves.

Don’t expect too much out of yourself. Just do your best, keep your eyes on the prize, and stay on the path you believe in. We are our own worst critics, and we deserve a life without the constant reprimand of our own thoughts.

Be kind to yourself.

Leave a Reply

